Outfits

Saturday Musings + Coffee – Planning for London

Hey there.

As some of you might know, I’m going on a trip to London in a little more than a week, and I’m beginning to get quite excited!


The whole thing was a little impromptu actually – my friend, Amanda, has a family friend in England, and she was talking to me in January maybe about how she was planning to visit over the summer. So me, being rather jealous, jokingly asked if I could come along, and to my surprise, she was cool with it. 

We’re getting to stay with this family friend for free, so no hotel to pay for, and Amanda’s mother used to be a flight attendant, so our airfare was greatly discounted. It’s all very lucky for me, because there’s no way I’d be able to pay for a trip like this otherwise. I’m still surprised it’s happening.

Anyway, Amanda and I met for lunch the other day (I actually wrote about it a little here) to discuss what we wanted to do while there. We’ve already got tickets to see Cage the Elephant (ironically, a Kentucky band) in their acoustic set at Union Chapel, but otherwise, our schedule is fairly free for whatever we want to do on any given day.

We decided we definitely want to do the Climb the O2 experience, as our means of getting a good view of the city from above, rather than doing something like the London Eye. We also want to hit Shoreditch for its beautiful Instagram opportunities,  St. Paul’s Cathedral (I’m a sucker for old, beautiful churches), Brick Lane Market, and probably way more things than we’ll actually be able to see. 


We’re going to meet again sometime before we leave to sort out our priorities, but, since I know many of you guys live in Europe, and some even in England, I thought I’d ask – what should I make sure to hit while in London? And honestly, even if you’re not English, but you’ve visited the country – or if you’re simply a person who likes giving their opinion – please leave me a comment below! I love hearing feedback, and I know I won’t be able to get to everything I want, so I’d appreciate any advice you can offer.

There’s so much still to do – pack, pick out clothes, order tickets, figure out how many bags I need and what needs to be checked and what can be carry-on – and so little time! I’m beginning to get rather excited though. This is my first time out of the country in years; the last time, I was in third grade and my parents took me to see China. That was such an amazing, memorable experience, so I hope England can compete!

Anyway, it looks like it’s going to be a short post today – my parents are calling me for dinner. Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you in the next one!

9 thoughts on “Saturday Musings + Coffee – Planning for London

  1. I studied in London for about 6 months and absolutely loved it! Definitely hit up Primrose Hill for a cool city view, warning though, you’ll have to climb a hill. Also bring some drinks and food when you go there, people love to picnic there. Camden Lock is amazing to walk around and has some fun little shops. If you’re looking for a tea place B Bakery is a great one! Last thing, Portobello road market is a great thrifty area. Sorry I recommended so many places haha Have fun in London!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have just found your blog, and love it. There’s soo much to see in London that you will not see it all in one day. Camden Lock and Market is walkable along the Canal. Then a bus back throuh Regents Street. I was born in central London and still get excited when I have a day there.
    Jo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, thank you so much for the advice! I’ll have to check those things out. I’m so excited to be going on this trip, and I’m jealous that you’ve been able to spend so much time there! ❤️❤️

      Like

      1. I do not know when you are going, or for how long, or what you would love to see. (Fashion, Art, Museums, Cafe’s, etc, London is soo big one visit will not be enough. I’m finding nice things there each visit.
        Jo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ll be there for a few weeks in early July – if you have any recommendations for shops or restaurants to go to, I’d love to hear them! I’m sure I won’t be able to see everything, so I’m doing my best to plan and prioritize before I go. Your help has been so lovely, by the way! Thanks again ❤️😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

